Councillors Councillors

The 2016 Local Government elections were held on Saturday 19th March 2016. The election was administered by the Electoral Commission of Queensland and was run smoothly.

For the second time, the process of direct election was applied to the position of Mayor in Indigenous Council areas. A new feature added to the process this term was the inclusion of ‘optional preferential voting’ for Mayoral ballot. The vacancies for Councillors was determined using ‘first past the post” system, with the top four candidates securing the post.

Council has opted to use one councillor for the position of ‘Deputy Mayor’ and this will apply for the term of this council.

Links to councillor disclosures are provided for reference.

Council ordinary meetings have been set for the third Tuesday of every Calendar month – any changes to the assigned meeting date will be captured in a council minute and altered date(s) advertised for the affected meeting.

The following is the team that makes up the Mapoon Aboriginal Shire Council for the term – 2016-2020


MAYOR Aileen Addo

Deputy Mayor 2013-14, Councillor 2012-2016

The first female mayor for Mapoon and second time councilor with extensive knowledge and history working in the health sector. Aileen is honored to be elected unanimously to the position. A former health worker with a keen sense of accountability and respect for culture, she is intent on working with fellow community leaders to add her mark to the solid platform that is Mapoon Shire.


Click link for Aileen Addo Interest Disclosure Statement